Asia Fresh News

Asia Fresh Stories

Are you one of the finalists? Seatrade Announces Finalists for the 8th Seatrade Maritime Awards Asia

leave a comment »

SINGAPORE /PRNewswire/ — Seatrade, a leading global maritime publisher and event organiser, has announced the shortlist of finalists for the 8thSeatrade Maritime Awards Asia. These 54 finalists have convinced an independent panel of judges of their well-deserving achievements amidst tough operating conditions, shining brightly like stars in a dark night.

“We received a huge number of nominations and entries this year”, said Marcus Hand, Seatrade Maritime News Asia Editor and Chairman of the Judging Panel. “The quality of the submissions were impressive and reflected the steely resolve of the maritime industry to rise above the challenges and constantly improve and out-perform itself.” Close to 100 submissions were received, vying for a spot within the 12 open award categories.

For the first time, the Seatrade Maritime Awards Asia will be held in conjunction with the Hong Kong Logistics and Maritime Weeks, as a partner event of the Asian Logistics and Maritime Conference. To be hosted by international news journalist Sharanjit Leyl, the awards gala dinner will be held on Monday, 16 November 2015 at the Convention Hall of the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. Award winners will be announced at the black tie gala dinner which is expected to be attended by close to 500 maritime and logistics industry executives. The highlight of the evening will be the presentation of special awards including the Seatrade Lifetime Achievement Award which had been presented to a very select few to honour individuals for their significant and lasting contributions to the maritime industry in Asia.

Visit for more information about the Seatrade Maritime Awards Asia and how you can book your dinner place.

Appendix: Shortlist of finalists and judging panel

2014 Awards Video:

For more information, please contact:

Daphne Yuen
DID: +65-6922-3740

About Seatrade

Seatrade provides a range of global events, websites and publications that covers every aspect of the cruise and maritime industries, bringing together key people to encourage innovation and to produce powerful learning, networking and promotional platforms. Founded in 1970, Seatrade was acquired recently in 2014 by UBM, the world’s second largest media and event organiser. Seatrade sits with the UBM EMEA, which connects people and creates opportunities for companies to develop new business, meet customers, launch new products, promote brands and expand markets. Operating in over 23 countries, UBM EMEA organizes many of the world’s largest, most important exhibitions, conferences, awards, directories, websites and publications in a wide variety of industries.

Find out more about Seatrade and UBM, Visit and .


Shortlist of Finalists

Award Category


Environment Protection Award

APL Co. Pte Ltd



Pacific Basin Shipping

Swire Pacific Offshore Operations (Pte) Ltd

Technical Innovation Award

Arctic Steel Pty Ltd

ClassNK – NAPA Green


Fuji Electric

GAC EnvironHull Limited

Corporate Social Responsibility Award

Holman Fenwick Willan

Magsaysay Maritime Corporation

Philippine Transmarine Carriers, Inc.

Sembcorp Marine Ltd

Swire Pacific Offshore Operations (Pte) Ltd

Safety Award

Berge Bulk

Fleet Management Limited

Keppel FELS Limited

Pacific Basin Shipping

Rickmers Shipmanagement (Singapore) Pte. Ltd.

Ship Manager Award

Fleet Management Limited

Fugro Marine Services Pte Ltd

Great Circle Shipping Agency Limited

Pacific Basin Shipping

Rickmers Shipmanagement (Singapore) Pte. Ltd.

Ship Owner/Operator Award

Caravel Shipping Limited

MOL Liner Ltd.

Pacific Basin Shipping

Swire Pacific Offshore Operations (Pte) Ltd

Swire Shipping

Emerging Terminal Operator Award


Pusan Newport International Terminal

SOHAR Port and Freezone

Maritime Logistics Award

CEVA Logistics

Kerry Logistics

Toll Group

Maritime Law Award

Holman Fenwick Willan

Ince & Co

Mayer Brown JSM

Reed Smith

Wikborg Rein

Ship Finance Award

DNB Bank ASA, Singapore Branch

Ince & Co

Mayer Brown JSM

Rajah & Tann Singapore LLP

Watson Farley & Williams

Shipbuilding & Repair Yard Award

Keppel Shipyard Limited

Sembcorp Marine Ltd

Yangzijiang Shipbuilding (Holdings) Limited

Deal of the Year

Allen & Gledhill LLP

Allen & Gledhill LLP (Debt restructuring of PT Berlian Laju Tanker Tbk)

BW Pacific Ltd

ICBC Financial Leasing Co Ltd

Team Tankers/Wikborg Rein

Judging Panel

Mr Marcus Hand, Editor, Seatrade Maritime News

The Judges:

  • Mr Gerardo Borromeo, Vice Chairman, Chief Executive Officer, Philippine Transmarine Carriers, Inc
  • Mr Arthur Bowring, Managing Director, Hong Kong Shipowners Association (HKSOA)
  • Mr Peter Cremers, Executive Chairman, Anglo-Eastern Univan Group
  • Mr Sunny Ho, Executive Director, Hong Kong Shippers Council
  • Mr Esben Poulsson, Chairman, Enesel Pte. Ltd. and President, Singapore Shipping Association
  • Mr Torgeir Sterri, Vice President and Regional Manager for Region Greater China, DNV GL
  • Mr Noboru Ueda, Chairman and President, ClassNK
  • Mr Tim Wilkins, Regional Manager, Asia Pacific, INTERTANKO Asia

Photo –

Source: Seatrade Communications

Written by asiafreshnews

September 9, 2015 at 2:39 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: